Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

newest entry

2001-05-13 - 3:24 a.m. - more poem.

i would like to preface this by saying these poem parts are all rough, im just putting them up here for the fuck of it and because i have nothing else to put up here. here are the 3rd and 4th parts...that means one more remains to be written. i have bad writers block so it may be a while. these two installments draw heavilyon Eliots The Waste Land(my poem is a response of sorts to it), a Saturday looks Good To Me song, a Hot Water Music Song, Pynchon's Gravity's Rainbow, Homi Bhbha and Edward Said, an REM song, a Bob Dyla song, and of course Baba O'Riley byt he Who...some of the past influence have been Bruce Springsteen(who also appears in this one), REM, Lovesick, Aloha, wizard of Oz, and others...after the fifth part ill post my notes explaining all my allusions and quotes...just like Eliot did...hope yer enjoying this...if you want to give me feedback(tear this baby to shreds, the more criticism the better it will end up being) my email is [email protected]

here ya go.

III. The Broken Voice

We heard the thunder

Coming across the horizon, such

A lonely, freight train rumble

Carrying a cargo of broken

Hearts abd wasted lives.

It's a shame, really.

Caught up in the anticipation of

Another sunrise,

Watching splinters of pink

And orange crack the navy

Blue sheet that hung over

Our eyes for so many hours.

And then the clouds, thick

And grey like memory,

Like unspoken words, and the approach

Of that beautiful, baritone

Moan, graceful and gutteral.

'Let's go in, get out

of the rain'

'it's not raining'

'it will, soon.'

'just listen.'

We did. And felt the rattle

Inside our bones with each syllable.

What is it saying?

Again the storm's song howls,

Shaking the tears from our eyes.

What is it saying?

I hold your wrist in my hand,

And count the beats of your heart

Between crashes, measuring

Distance, the pulse of the storm.

What is it saying?

Finally, the rain breaks

Free from its prison, the sky.

Our bodies remain motionless,

Every nerve ending shattered

After out prolonged attempts to break

The syncopated rhythm of thunder.

What is it saying?

Nothing.

There is no code, never was.

Thunder is only thunder and we

Have wasted our ears attempting

To draw meaning from sound

That is meant, only to vibrate the oxygen

We breathe, nothing more.

Next, a flash. 10,000 wedding photographs,

All taken at the same time, from somewhere

In the sky, chisels a new crack

Across the clouds. And on the ground,

Where our shadows were cast by the sun

Before this tempest came to break

Our peace, is burnt

A sillhouette of you and I.

From the grey outline, I can tell

Your hair is matted, and would guide

The water down your forehead

To your eyes. This rain burns,

Turns to tears and cries itself out.

This is all that will be left

Of us, a shadow.

And now your voice, cracked

From so much crying:

"What are you thinking?"

"You don't want to know."

"Tell me what you are

thinking."

"You don't want the ghosts

and sleepless nights, cast

in the shadow of my words."

"You never tell me

what you are thinking.

Tell me, and I will listen."

"You don't want to listen."

"I do."

"You don't listen."

Look down at the bottom of the hill,

See the broken, rotted bodies

And dilated pupils, the yellow

Teeth and failed livers?

These are the children of an age.

"don't cry"

"I'm not looking."

"Don't raise your eyes."

"What is happening?"

"It's only teenage wasteland."

Take my hand. There must be something

More beautiful, somewhere

Beyond the graves of the living,

The children born from tears, the broken

Hearts and the cracked bones.

Someday.

Someday, we'll get out of here,

Leave tom and ezra in their tower

And cindarella mopping floors

Someday.

When will I be a bird, I mean

When can I sing. When will

You let me.

Someday.

Until then, though, be watchful

Of men from the city who

Will hypnotize you with their

Suits and ties.

And if you're needing inspiration,

Remember that we were born

To run.

III. What the Vampire Said.

In April, we walked

Across the battleground, and kicked

The black and blue earth

Beneath our feet, careful

To avoid the white

Crosses carved from bone.

"Be cautious of landmines

and the tortured pantomimes

of high school drop outs�"

"but where are the trenches

of our enemies?"

"Beneath your feet, darling."

This wasteland is without end, or opposition.

Homi Bhabha and Edward Said

Are writing papers about the redefinition

Of youth culture in this liminal space,

The fallout from two eras colliding,

This motherfucking beyond,

This one sided war, while we

Stand, unassembled puzzles

Of flesh. They say

Once there was a man.

He kneeled down, as if to pray

And kissed the ground

With tongue and teeth.

Nosferatu! The people whispered,

As he drank the blood from the earth,

Spilled from our veins.

Nosferatu, the vampire.

And in a buzz and a flash

We blinded, then dust.

"But the land can't

heal on a diet

of blood and dust."

Just before you

Disappear.

I wish I could cry.

The nosferatue was said to have stood

Up after his meal of earth and blood,

Soil stained chin and roots

Caught in his teeth and said:

"I wish I could die."

Datta.

Dayadhvam.

Damyata.

I wish I could cry, sometimes.

I don't want to be blinded.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!