Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

newest entry

2001-05-04 - 3:43 p.m. - the first canto of a work in progress under the working title, he does the fishes in different lakes.

"A Challenge to God"

Where there is sweat

mosquitoes breed, licking

the hair on our arms, anticipating

the sweet taste

of the syrup that ties

our insides together, red

like painted lips, and tasting

of pennies pressed beneath tongues

in an attempt to fool the mmercury

that calls us sick.

Yesterday was a snowstorm, coming

across the level terrain,

from which we hid

our tender skin with garments

of cotton and wool.

Is this the best that you can do,

spring? your greens are white

and your whites, grey. Colors

melt and mix together in an abstract

paint by numbers. Mother always made us

use the washable paints. I squint

in low light for much

of the night and sleep while the sun

burns your skin.

--

Wenday and Becky left

so many good intentions back

behind the particle

board storefronts. Wacth

your step, the slightest falter

could send this imaginary city

to the ground, flat;

"I heard Hollywood

fell from the sky and landed on the dying towns, founded in gold,

kicked up a cloud

of dust and saved

the windows from their futures --

covered by boards and under

the new ownership

of ghosts -- and from beneath the edge

of the city, toes roll

into feet and Bruce

soliloquizes of her as a vision

dancing across the porch

as the radio plays.

--

in the spring, all of my friends make love, and i just listen for rain.

--

Is this the best you can do, fate?

--

another sunrise

i had not thought the sun

undoes so many stars

each morning. Here is the proof:

our hearts become the stuff of burning

furnaces, fueld by the conversion

of hydrogen into helium; the haunting

of our hearts by imploded stars

that become invisible in the bronze

mo(u)rning sky. I form a fist

the hold the accumulation of all our

hearts and their histories;

and i shake my fist, scraping

knuckles bloody against the liminal

space between and beyond

the sun and the moon.

"Is this the best you can do,

God?"

Come down here and fuck me

to my face, eye to eye

so that you might freeze in the ice

of my stare, and we can deconstruct you

with chisels and piques,

God.

I double dog dare you.

xoxo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!