Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

newest entry

2001-05-08 - 11:43 a.m. - II. Exhuming the dead

II. Exhuming the dead

--

To be devoured

by a tree, first

you need ro reject everything

you have ever believed,

or maybe the tree comes

first. Ariel forgot

the painted scene- ice

frozen on skin, a living tomb

of dead water molecules - she

had folded up and

placed in her pocket. And with

a split lip and blackeye,

she cries: "this is

my point of exit."

--

"does anybody here rememberVera Lynn?"

"I wish I did, i wish i could help you."

"she must be on fire. im so afraid of

the brightness that consumes all things

dying."

"Breathe. Give me your hand and don't

go ino the light."

"I'm afraid of the light."

"As well you should be." It is the light

that burns our eyes and makes us forget

who we are, lulling

us into submission with static

and cycles, broken

promises and half smiles.

This ground is sacred, so if

you're needing inspiration,

you need to know

--

you are half way there. Somebody

moved the graveyard under

your house, and suddenly

we are reminded of saturdays

10 years gone, when wewould comb the neighborhood park for death

and avoid the clamp of leeches

on our groins, we were such fools

and kings. Like yesterday, Jake

forgot his cigarette

burning in his ashtray

and no one reminded him to

take a hit to save

his soul, and now he turns ash

and the sum of all his parts dissolves

into the oxygen we breathe

leaving an empty legacy of nothing

more than a butt for angry women

with red, red lipstick to stub

into plastic or crush under foot.

--

"Is there anybody out there?"

"No, this house is clean," amd the dead

erupt from the earth and

break Ariel's --remember her?-- wrists

with forced handshakes and readings

of her pulse. 90 beats per minute,

why so nervous, sister? it's only death.

She remembers the man with

eyes that were once pearls, hiw words:

"Would you like

to learn to fly."

She cries, scraping trenches in the mud

as she is drug down, down,

down, afraid to scream for help, of

filling her perscribed role, helpless

and weak. down, down, down...

"would you like

to see me try."

--

And now the world is a monster

eating my eyes from the whites,

insde,

"why are you running away"

Remember her.

--

Remember her?

she won't let us forget.

--

Last year Jake and I would go

down tot he river and wash

our feet, talking of women

and the future, creating the history

that we so eloquently discussed tonight,

our eyes melting into pools

of nostalgia in which we dissolve

placebos and real pills, and choke

ont he solution, our throats constricted.

--

As a baby i was bitten,

some foreign spider with

poison for blood. My body swelled

as my veins betrayed me, carrying

and depositing death throughout

my fragile young body. Father

had to slit my throat

--

so that i could breathe.

--

and jake would throw his

spent cigarettes into the water

to sizzle and expand

absorbing the sickeningly

dead water, decomposed

to dishwater and bleeding amonia.

I wish i could drink but

--

i had to much to drink and refused

the entire time to think of you.

"I guess that's all i needed."

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!