Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

newest entry

2001-06-12 - 12:35 a.m. - V. ...And I Feel Fine

well folks...here it is...part 5 (long overdue) to my five part poem entitled "We Freeze Our LAwns in the Spring"...now im gonna send it to some poetry minded friends to have them mark shit up all over it and send it back so i can do revisions...if anyone i don't knwo reads this and whats to make suggestions...my email is under contact info up and to the left...this peace alludes to sources as wide and varied as Lovesick, Nine Inch Nails, nirvana, Paul McCartney, "The Waste Land" and im already toying with adding allusions to the beach boys and/or the white stripes...for those of you new to this...it is my response poem to Elliot's the waste land...any questions drop me a line...the old parts are still up so check em out...here it is...peace.

V. �And I feel Fine

Just before dawn, we feel

The pull of the moon's fingers,

Tracing splinters across the ceiling, tighten

Their grip and start slipping, burning

Trenches in the air

Above our heads.

I came to this place

Alone with nothing more

Than two decades of experience

In breathing and a bucket

Of water where my blood should be; my veins

Are garden hoses.

Can someone tell me

What I've learned?

Feel the weight of every star

Burning out, snuffed

Like candles, cold

And gray upon your chest.

This is only the beginning

Can someone tell me what

We have learned?

What lessons were to be

Taught by corpses - filed in cabinets

Alphabetically, their eyes

Dilated - except for which books

We are blind to; which songs

Make too never sing?

"This is our last chance for peace."

"Fuck it."

"Shantih. Shantih. Shantih."

"Fuck you."

I light a cigarette and feel the sting

Down to my veins a similar sensation to:

Swallowing needles; drinking the sun.

Is this supposed to hurt

Or is it to remind me that I'm alive.

"I hurt myself today

to see if I still feel."

Feel:

The earth shaking, always; the wind blowing,

Kicking down the trees

And kissing

The skin from off my bones.

How sweet your kisses. How sweet

The sting of muscle exposed to sand

And bacteria. You're so

Sweet.

Have you ever seen wind dissolve; motion

Slipping between the holes in our atmosphere

Creating a new solution of potential

Energy and peace. This is the new

Equilibrium of wind and we are all stripped

To our bones; skeletons

Drowning in oxygen without

The luxury of lungs or pulses.

Where is the thunder now?

It still rumbles nonsense in the sky

Directly above where we stand.

Where are our ears now?

We sing the songs we knew

Would make us mute, not knowing

That our voices only sound

Is the echo of jazz waltzes from half a century

Ago playing on a transistor radio

In the home of somebody's grandparent.

Is this a dream?

In every dreamed final moment

There was only you and I

Stripped down to bone and beating

Hearts, singing: "When you were young

And your heart

Was an open book."

And in every dreamed final moment

We are the proof of humanity. No photograph

Is as honest as a dream: too honest

To smile; too bold to hide

Behind sheets. This is for us

On the sidewalk, living in boxes, afraid

To eat meat, "But it's okay

To eat fish because they don't have any feelings."

Eat me.

'Don't go out alone.'

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!